The Last Letter…

Before you turn up

And your tears make it impossible for me to leave

I’ll break the ties between us

I’ll be gone before you get here

I regret having to leave you,

I hurt at not staying faithful to you,

I have broken my own promise

Fallen, disgraced, ashamed, in my own eyes

Before you say you’re leaving me,

Before you push me aside

Before you break my heart

I will break my own heart

I’ll be gone before you get here

I am your guilty

I am your sinner

I carry this shame with me

And I won’t let you suffer my turmoil

I will punish myself

Before your friends make jest to hurt you,

And I see the tears that I caused

I will break this connection, here, now

I’ll be gone before you get here

Yeah, you will still wait

Even now, you will still have faith

You will leave open the door

But your estimations are wrong

Before love conquers anger

And forgiveness overcomes punishment

I will break this ritual as well

I’ll be gone before you get here

Before you turn up

And your tears make it impossible for me to leave

I’ll break the ties between us

I’ll be gone before you get here

Leave a Reply

