Grave of Love

I am not the noor of anyone’s eyes
Nor am the yearning of anyone’s heart
That which is of no use to anyone
I am that setting evening sun.

I am not anyone’s lover
Nor am I someone’s desire
The fate that wasn’t meant to be
I am the ruins of the past

My colour my shape is ruined
the one love I did have is taken from me
Like the unripe fruit fallen off its tree
I am the failed fruit of love

At my grave why should anyone come?
Why should anyone place flowers?
Why should anyone light a candle there for me?
For I am the shrine of failed love.

Translated/interpreted from the Mohammad Rafi song “Na kisi ki ankh ka noor hu”

Leave a Reply

