Stoned Compassion

In a world made of glass
All I see is people made of stone
Beautiful, yes they are
But they still look like stone
No heart no souls
Only ambition and goals
No time to stop
Only time to move on
In a world made of glass
I see people made of stone

In a world made of flowers
All I see is people made of stone
Beautiful, yes they are
But ugly between flowers is a stone
No love no compassion
Only anger and hate
No time to ask about any other
Save to mock at anothers’ ill fate
In a world made of flowers
I see people made of stone

I wonder to myself
How can this be?
The lord who gave love
He who gave mercy
How could he make us
So cruel, cold and calculating?
And then I realise
When a seed is sown
She takes her own route
Directed by her environment
In a world raining sorrow and tears
Society reaps what it sows

In a world made of soft dreams
All I see is people made of stone
Beautiful, yes they are
But ugly are the dreams they dream

Leave a Reply

